Tuesday, September 27, 2016

It Takes a Village....

A month or so before Ironman Louisville 2015, I made the decision not to participate in anything longer than a 70.3 in 2016. My "A" race, the race I was going to be training for was going to be Ironman 70.3 Augusta.

Leading up to Augusta, I was oddly calm. I wasn't counting down to race day, nor was I agitated by other's countdowns. I didn't change my Facebook profile picture to my bib number. I had everything I needed for race day sorted out and ready to pack 3 days before I needed to leave. I had had some great runs leading up to taper. My last work out went well, REALLY well. I was ready.

The weekend before I flew in to Philadelphia to voluncheer at Ironman 70.3 Atlantic City. My good friend was going for her first. I had a travel voucher for Delta. I hadn't been home in a while. All good reasons to pop out of town for a couple of days.

It was a great trip and I was feeling great until Tuesday. As Tuesday rolled on, so did my "Taper Cold". I missed 2 days of work and instead of uploading data, I was reporting in my sleep and nap episodes:
I'm doing everything possible to rest, recover and get ready. Coach pulled workouts in favor of rest. I whined a little but followed directions. This resulted in my taper week being a total of 3 workouts: 2 short swims, and then Saturday before race I hopped on my bike for the first time in 8 days for 15 minutes and then trotted 8 minutes. I told Coach I was going to be the most rested athlete to jump in the river on Sunday!

Minimal to no improvement throughout the week. On Saturday I lost my voice. I still couldn't come up with a reason not to jump in the river. Some of you get this and some of you don't. That's okay.

I had little sleep Saturday night leading into race morning. That's not uncommon for many athletes, but it is for me. I can usually get about 5-6 straight hours of sleep. Not Saturday night, a couple hours and then coughing fits. A little bit more sleep, then coughing fits.

I woke up, grabbed my stuff and walked to the shuttle. My folks came to cheer and Dad's plan was to meet me at the flag pole at 7am. I left the room at about 5.

On the shuttle I sat right behind Lane and I had my first tears of the morning. I still can't figure out why. But they were there. A quick chat with Lane and we hear for the first time the swim isn't wetsuit legal. First time in Augusta 70.3 history.

Into transition to set up my area. Coach had a race plan for me that had heart-rate zones and power numbers. I had written it out and tucked it into a Ziploc bag to shove into my jersey for reference. Set up my bottles, my fuel, etc. Heard the official "no wetsuit" announcement. I could have worn my wetsuit but I would start in the last wave. I was not willing to give up my 8:04 start for 9:20. Besides, as I was reminded by coach: I am a swimmer. The wetsuit would have shaved 5-7 minutes off my swim, but I didn't need it. I packed up my backpack and headed to the flag pole.

Dad and I had no issues connecting and I was explaining what was going on and we were taking it all in. Caught up with lots of friends and a couple teammates to wish everyone well or see what they were wearing so to spot them on the run later.
My #1 fan.
Presentation of the flag, national anthem, and the pros were off. Time for me to go huddle in my wave. Hug to dad (best sherpa of the day!) and I was gone. Saw a few Ironwilled ladies and lots of friends. Sabra says hi to me, and the tears flow again. Why? I couldn't figure out why I was so teary. Don't get me wrong, anyone who knows me knows I cry. One day I'll get my tear ducts under control but this weekend wasn't going to be it. Stacey comes up to me and gives me a hug. I get the tears to stop. Regroup and it's time to walk down the ramp.

The Swim:
Plan: Go hard for about 2-300 yards, find your place, and then pull off a little, but keep swimming strong.
What happened: I started a little too close to the front for my liking, but I held my place the best I could. Big arms, a bit of contact. One woman stroked across my leg and didn't just make contact, but grabbed my leg and pulled. The second time she did that I pulled in my leg, put it on her shoulder and pushed her away. Contact happens, but there is no need for me to feel like you are trying to pull me under. I swam strong and steady. Out of the water. Waves to Kris (the only person to give me a nickname and actually stick to it!) and my Dad. Came out of the water steady enough to trot up the ramp and continue a jog to my bike.
Take away: I am not a fast swimmer, but I am strong and confident. I've learned how to and will protect my space on the swim.

T1: I felt good about this. A quick pause for another round of sunscreen. Socks, shoes, helmet, bike and out.

The Bike:
Plan: Coach broke the ride into 3 segments.Each segment had power goals and hear-rate targets. I felt good about the plan. I thought it was something I could accomplish.
What happened: When I got back to my bike, the Ziploc bag was no where to be found and the ink on my arm was smeared. I'd read the plan at least 5 times, so I knew it was: stay under control and find your legs, then push a bit, then push more. That's what I tried to do. I tried to stay on top of my water; at each aide station I would grab one bottle for my bike to drink and then another bottle to dump all over me. I didn't hit my power goals and my heart-rate was high; but as far as perceived effort, I felt like I was in the right place for the whole ride. With the exception of the discomfort (see next paragraph) I felt good about the data I was seeing every 5 miles. I truly tried to dig deep and stay focused for the last 8+ miles as it's a net downhill... free speed if I could keep pedaling!
Take away: This wasn't the bike course I signed up for! There was a DOT detour so 2 additional climbs were added. I handled them fine, John Cobb says "comfort is speed". I am not comfortable on my bike. I'm comfortable riding a bike, but not MP. My knees started to hurt, my hoo-ha still hates me. It was only 56 miles. I should have been able to ride without such discomfort. I'm not going to gain any speed if I can't keep my cadence up because I'm shifting around in the saddle trying to find a spot that doesn't suck. Every time I stop pedaling, there goes pace. It is time to retire MP, he's a good man. It's not him, it's me. Merry Chrisma-kah to me!

T2: I had a picnic. I was in no rush. I walked my bike in. I took my time switching shoes. I grabbed my Dynamo Trucker hat, my fuel belt so I could always have water with me, and my race belt with my number. I walked to get sunscreen. I was trying to get my heart-rate down as I was high to start my run. Augusta has about .25 mile route in and out of transition. I walked all of it.

The Run:
Plan: I was given a plan I believed I could follow. That had me all in as opposed to going in with any doubts. I know it would be tough at the end, but it was supposed to be. It was time to race! Miles 1-3 nice and easy, Z1. Miles 4-10, kick it up a bit. Miles 11-12, more, what was left? Last mile: Dig deep, get it done.
What happened: My wheels started to wobble maybe a mile in, maybe sooner. It is a 13.1 mile run. I stopped at the first aide station and had them fill my bottles. I started to run easy. Nice and easy, but it felt labored. It didn't feel good. It should have, dang it!

I told myself to shift to aide station to aide station. That process has worked well for me in the past. Let's let it work for me now. Aide is about at every mile. This switched to 4-1, run 4, walk 1. A woman caught up to me and asked if I wanted to join her. I said YES! I hung for the first set, and then I let her go. At about mile 2 I came up to the TriCoachGeorgia and TriAugusta Tents. Lots of friends right there. I think I saw Darsh and then Danielle and I walked towards them and proceeded to have an epic melt down. Jeff saw it. Tears. More tears. I was having a physical and emotional melt down. I was not following my plan, I was having tons of doubts. I was thinking of a DNF. They gave me hugs and I moved on. I saw Tiffanie, who kindly did NOT take a picture of me at that moment. Then I saw Kristin. Probably my guardian angle for the entire race.
Not my best moment of the race, but Kris caught them all.
Kristin asked what was up and I told her I had a blister in my foot. I hurt. Everything hurt. Right then Fred ran up to me on his second loop. He stopped. Heard me mention a blister. I took off my shoe and sock, Fred put Aquaphor on it. I put my sock/shoe back on. Both of them asked when I had eaten last. Through tears I told them, "I don't know". Fred opened a gel and I took it in. He then said let's go. And he stayed with me for about 2 miles. We posed for pictures, we stopped and talked to my folks. He had one of my bottles switched to Gatorade and I filled the other with water. He helped me pull myself together. I started to see Kris on the run course.
Lucky and blessed to be part of the Dynamo Team
At about mile 3.5/4 ish Fred took off to finish his race. To be honest with myself, if not for the help of friends, Kristin and Fred specifically, I might have had my first DNF. I know this shocks those that know me really well, but I was really thinking about it. But then...what would I do with the swag that I bought? Just sayin'....

I got my head together. I abandoned the plan and I created a new one. I needed to finish. There was not a real single reason I could come up with not too. I was sick, so what? It was hot, so what? Finish what you started.

I needed a run interval I could succeed with. So as coach had told me going into this when we both realized I'd be racing sick, small chunks, Shawna, small chunks. And that's what I did. I stopped looking at my watch and I started looking around. Run to the red car, walk to the street light. Run to the street sign, walk at the white car. Rinse, repeat, keep moving forward. I stopped and hugged everyone I knew.

And that's how the run went. Slow. Small chunks. It got done.

At the turn to the finish, Doris caught up to me and said let's finish together. So we did. Holding hands and celebrating the finish line.


Take away: The only thing you can control on race day is your attitude (Thank you Stacy S. for the reminder). I let that go for a bit, but with the help of friends and calories I recovered it. And when the plan no longer works you find a way, and you get it done. There was zero, zero reason for me not to finish.

My triathlon season is over for 2016. I had lots of ups and downs. I PR'd some races. I had some very tough training days. I'm thankful for it all. There will be more from this race for me to remember and reflect on. Lessons learned to take to next season. Two thoughts crept in to my head as I made it through the run: I should retire from long course and then I should retire from triathlon. Nah...I think I have decided on my first 70.3 for 2017.


I'm thankful.

  • My parents were able to spend the weekend with me, my sister was cheering and watching the live feed from home. 
  • My coaches, teammates, and friends believe in me, even when I fail/forget to believe in myself.
  • The triathlon community I've built around myself is the most amazing for taking care of each other. 
  • I am physically able to do this stuff. I am healthy enough to continue working on my mental game.

Ironman 70.3 Augusta was not the race I trained for, but it was the race that I got. I will build on the experience for next year.  Now it's time to get back to my running roots as Marine Corp Marathon is in about 4 weeks. Aidan and I have work to do.

If you were considering donating to our fundraising efforts, it's not too late. Click here for more information.



Monday, June 27, 2016

Not Much of a Trend Setter...

It seems to be the current trend is to share everything on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, and a few other social media outlets I'm not cool enough to understand. While it seems like everyone is over sharing, I'm sitting here thinking, "Do I really want that shared?" and I'm pulling back. (Before I get called out on my food posts to Instagram, those posts are for me, not you. I'm in a second round of Whole30, and posting to Instagram helps keep me focused. And even there, an outlet for pictures, I don't post every bite that I take.)

Maybe that's why I haven't written much recently.

Or maybe, when I started blogging it was because I was constantly being challenged to push myself further and sharing these new experiences with you was fun and the support provided really helped me keep going. Now when I swim, bike, run, it seems as normal as eating breakfast. It's what I do. Am I facing new challenges, all the time, but it seems like a more personal journey I guess.

Anyway...I have a race report to share. I don't think I shared a report on my first race of the season or if I did, I just had it on Facebook.

PT Solutions Allatoona Triathlon: 500m swim, 16mile bike, 5K run

I'm chronically early on race day. It's my thing. I get to Dallas Landing before the sun rises. I don't know why I didn't think of this a year or so ago, but I did all my bike prep at home before driving over (air in the tires, etc). My first stop is the Cannon Cyclery tent because Bart had been requesting #bakedgoods. I brought the guys s'more stuffed brownies and Wayne wastes no time digging in. Curtis does a quick once over on my bike and I'm off to set up my transition.

Wayne making sure everyone saw the deliciousness he was about to eat! (Happy 60th Wayne!)
I must be getting more comfortable because I have started bringing less and less with me to sprints.
I claimed a spot in the middle of the rack, but on the end, if that makes sense. My number grouping was assigned to a rack on the inside of 2 put together. Anyway, I set up, put things down and then start visiting. After all, what else do you do for 1.5 hours before the race starts, I mean besides braid Jess's hair?
Jess and I rocking our Ironwilled kits by Coeur!

When I returned, some one had shifted my bike over, placed her bike between mine and the rail, and had her bike hanging over my stuff. Come on folks, you don't touch other people's bikes. If you have an issue, you tell an official. They find the person. She said she didn't mean to upset me when I asked her how my bike got moved. I then told her not to worry, I would reset so that I was not in her way as I pointed out to her that I would have to climb under her bike to get to my shoes.

PSA: Please don't touch someone's stuff in transition. If there's a problem, a race official will find the owner of said stuff.

It's always fun doing local races and meeting new people and seeing friends. That has to be the only reason I keep coming back to this race. It's a first rate race, but the only thing flat on this course is the swim! I got to hang out and chat with too many people to list without forgetting someone, so I'll skip that part.

The race report:

The Swim:
The swim is posted as 500 meters. I think the course was long. I'm not complaining, everyone swam the same course. I looked at my official race pace and the meters Garmin says I covered and my pace and theirs aren't close! (Garmin said 2:17/100yd, race pace said 2:50/100 yd) So I looked at other athletes and their posted race pace, no way. They swim much faster than that. Anyway, this year, unlike last year, I was able to get in and start swimming without engaging in a boxing match for 500 meters. My heart rate stayed steady, and I felt good. As a matter of fact, I'm swimming looking for the next buoy (there were 2-3 between turns) and the next thing I know I'm approaching the turn. Not really sure where the other went, but oh well.

Out of the swim and I'm able to run up the beach and into transition. T1 was about 90 secs. Nothing worth noting, but once again, I don't practice transitions, so I'm happy.

Photo cred: Lauren who I met at Endurance House's event a couple of weekends ago.
The Bike.
The plan on any sprint I do is to "put the pedal down and hold on for as long as possible." This one was no different except I was to hold back a little towards the end of the bike to get ready for the run, and see how hard I could push the run. More on that in a moment.

Ride elevation chart, about 675 feet on climbing in 16 miles.
The bike is never my favorite part. It is a necessary component to get me from the swim to the run. I can't remember ever finishing a race and thinking, THAT was a good bike! But yesterday I did. I felt I was riding strong and steady. I didn't curse any of the hills out loud. (I may have had some internal dialogue about some cyclists who were riding down the middle of the lane and I had to get very specific about them moving to the right so I could pass them but my words out loud were very encouraging. I promise!!!) I even kept my joy about me to motivate others up a nice steady long freakin' hill about mile 12. Last year I rode this route at about 15.8 mph. This year was 17.2!

T2: a minute ish

The Run.
They changed the run this year. I'm not sure why, but they did. It added more hills. In all, about 245 feet of climbing in 3.1 miles. The usual plan is to get my feet under me and just hold on. Saturday night, coach added some helpful planning for the race: Let's work the run and at the end, I want you to remember why you hate sprints. Out of transition and at that moment the cloud cover parted and the sun came out. It was hot and sunny. I decided it was best to stop at the first water station (I normally go past it on a sprint) and grab 2 waters: 1 for my head and one to sip for a moment. Then I started off again. Lizzie said I looked strong. I wasn't feeling that way. Heat. Hills. Humidity. Pretty normal for Atlanta, but still tough to push through. I remembered 6 secs and started setting small goals for going up the next hill. Get to the purple flowers. Get to the mailbox. Get to the top of the hill. Other than split second stops at the aide stations, I ran through and still pulled off negative splits with a sprint in on the final straight away. 29:32, about 30 secs off of last year, but it was hotter and it was different course.
Mountain goats would love this course

Overall:
I was very happy with how my day went. I can honestly say I had a great ride and followed it up with a really good run. Usually when someone finishes a tri and starts talking about how great their ride was, it is usually followed by a complete meltdown on the run.

A VERY VERY special shout out goes to this lady who shaved 26 minutes off her time from last year and has dropped 40lbs!! She's a true juggler of triathlon, family, and career. Once again...I'm so happy for you and your accomplishments!



And coach: I remember why I hate sprints!*

*Come on, people. They are hard! Nothing against you short course people.

Lastly....while I have met my fundraising goal, Aidan and his family are still working on theirs. If you are interested and able to support our endeavor, please consider donating to the Kyle Pease Foundation on our behalf. EVERY dollar is helpful!

Aidan and I after our first 5K together. #KPMCM16 here we come!





Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Rollercoaster Aren't Always Fun....

Ever go to an amusement park and get dragged on a ride you didn't want to go on? And it wasn't fun... I mean sometimes you get dragged on a ride and finish asking to go again, but other times you get off the ride and have lots of colorful words for your friend.

I did that to a few people in my life this winter. I dragged them onto my emotional roller coaster without asking if they wanted to come.

One of the reasons I haven't been writing is I didn't feel like I had anything worth sharing. You know, because everything doesn't have to be shared with cyberspace. Some things really are best kept personal.

I finished IMLou and stayed high off that for a bit, but then I hurt my ankle. And the high came crashing down. The winter plans of working on my running speed for triathlon and lacrosse got shelved. Why? Because it hurt to run. If it hurts, don't do it. About 8 weeks of minimal running and a lot of swimming and cycling on the trainer. I was thankful I was not a one trick pony or I would have been a mess. This endurance junkie (like most) doesn't do well sitting still.

However, my run stayed stagnant and I felt like I had no legs on the field.

Oh, and my jeans stopped fitting.

Then there was work, there was a huge, I mean HUGE change at work Nov. 1, 2015. My entire work situation got turned inside out and upside down. MAJOR, MASSIVE adjustments had to be made. And I didn't make them well. I'm still adjusting and if anything it forced me to stop talking and start doing.


And dating...oh wait, never mind. There wasn't any of that. I am however all caught up on House of Cards and I finished Nurse Jackie.

I decided that after my birthday I was going to do Whole30 or a realistic version for me. When it comes to food, I have no determination. If I could focus on my food as much as I do my workouts, I'd be a lean mean tri-ing machine. If anyone had taken bets on how long I'd last without: sugar, dairy, processed foods, bread/gluten or items resembling bread, and alcohol; I would have said 3 days. But I did it. I chronicled it on instagram. I don't know why I didn't want to share in Facebook, I just chose not too. It went well. I had lots of support from friends and some unlikely sources. It was a good experience. I'm still doing a modified version of it by really trying to focus on what foods I chose to eat. I'm still not back into the jeans from 2014, but my clothing is fitting much better.

In the middle of Whole30 I had a pretty significant break down about my workouts. And as if on cue, everything started to turn. I had a good ride. I had a good run. I kept up with almost all of masters swim. I finished probably the fastest lacrosse game I'd ever officiated and walked off the field knowing that I was where I was supposed to be, when I was supposed to be. It was like a switch was flipped.

I had lunch recently with one of the people I dragged into my pity party and they point blank said: The amount of negative energy from you is just too much.

And it was true.

To those of you I dumped on, thank you for sticking around and I'm sorry.

Things in my world are in a constant state of change and right now, it is all for the best! I've sold my home. Another lacrosse season is almost done. I'm actively working on changing some other things...to be announced later, and I'm back to enjoying tris and training.



While I have some goal triathlons this upcoming season, my new "A race" that has my focus and excitement is my return to the Marine Corp Marathon in October. It will be marathon #8 (after telling my dad I'm never running 26.2 miles because that's crazy!). However, what makes this event spectacular and special and just damn awesome is that I'm running with someone else! I will get to feed off Aidan's spirit while he gets to borrow my legs. I GET to run with him. We will be running with the Kyle Pease Foundation and I feel incredibly honored that I have this opportunity.
If you are as moved by this opportunity as I am, we would love a donation of ANY amount. Really, just think if 10 people donate $10 that's $100.

Aidan and my fundraising page is here. We are THIS close to 50%. A couple clicks and you can be part of our team without taking a step!

Here's to a great spring and summer and more positivity and good stuff in all of our lives....








Monday, February 22, 2016

Dear Motorist revisited....

Dear Motorist,

I'm sorry I delayed you a few moments while you had to wait to safely pass me. However, I also want to thank you. Thank you for losing those few moments to make sure I stayed safe while riding my bike. Thank you for sharing the road with me, I'm doing the best to share it back with you. That big goofy wave I gave you, that's because I wanted you to know I was waving and not, well, giving you the finger. So I use a big ol' goofy wave. I don't know if you are aware or not, but it is not legal for me to ride my bike on the sidewalk. That's right, if you are over 12 years of age, it is against the law to ride on the sidewalk.

You should know, I'm not the only one thanking you for giving up those few moments to pass me. My mom and dad thank you. My niece and nephews thank you. My brother and sister thank you. My friends thank you.

See, I'm more than just a triathlete trying to stay healthy and train for my next race. I'm a daughter. I'm a sister. I'm an aunt. I'm a friend. I'm a coach. I'm an employee.

When you sacrifice those couple of moments to get around me, you give me another opportunity to continue pursuing my goals and my dreams. You allow me to celebrate the next birthday, holiday, special occasion with my family and friends.

These thoughts I share with you are not original and many people with much greater influence than I have shared them. I just wanted to take a moment and thank YOU for sacrificing those couple of moments.

Please, I implore you, pass me like you love me because someone out there does.

Respectfully,
Shawna


#passthemlikeyoulovethem

Friday, January 15, 2016

Time to Lighten the Load...

I'm tired of being tired. Why am I tired? It isn't like I have kids. (Snarky reference to that stupid meme that says people who don't have children don't know exhaustion.) I'm tired because I over commit myself. I'm busy. I'm busy all the time. Therefore I don't get enough down time and I don't get enough one-on-one time with my bed and I'm spontaneously crying for no apparent reason.  (Special thanks to a friend who admitted this happens to her too. I appreciated her sharing cause I thought she had this adulting thing down.) And because I'm so very tired so often, I'm finding it tougher to deal with disappointments, you know...life stuff.


So what's going to give... not as a resolution but as a life style shift? I'm going to start saying no thank you, and I'm going to stop being the first to volunteer unless it's really something I want to participate in or something very meaningful.

What cannot give:
My day job. Why you ask? I get paid biweekly and I did not win the Powerball. I'm disappointed also.

What I'm not willing to give:
Refereeing lacrosse. It pays for triathlon and I almost always enjoy it. #whistlewhileyouwork
Triathlon. I did cut back on distance this year. Call it a compromise.
Ironwilled: Women who Tri. If I need to explain why...It's like you don't know me.
Coaching. My adult athletes are all remote and a complete blast to work with. (I've got room for 2 more this season, just saying."

What can give:
Starting in December and concluding last week, I've stepped away from volunteering on a consistent basis for my neighborhood. To those of you who volunteer on your neighborhood association, God bless you!

I survived my full 1 year term on the association board as vice-president. I probably should add that to my LinkedIn profile. I digress. I don't know what I actually took away from it. I do not believe I achieved any sort of personal growth during my term. My fault? Maybe, maybe not. I know by not serving another term I get back 4 hours a month (drive time + 3 hour meeting) from not attending a monthly board meeting and my gmail account has exponentially less emails wanting my attention. That's TWO days back to myself just from not going to a meeting. And my gmail inbox...so quiet!

I gave up my neighborhood Facebook group that I started and was the moderator for. Like life, this group ebbs and flows and there were times it was a great community. However, lately, it seems that the squeakiest wheels just want to squeak. They don't want to offer solutions. They don't want to stop squeaking. They just want to make noise. I'm out of diplomacy for these squeakers. I asked for someone else to take over the admin role for the group as I'd been it for 2 years or so. Only one person out of 170 offered. If you aren't part of the solution then you are part of the problem, and we're talking about improving our homes. I'm still around, but someone else can drag the horse to water.

It was not hard (not easy either by the way) to walk away from these obligations because they brought limited joy to my life. I can honestly acknowledge I'm not on my couch at night wishing I was at a meeting. I'm not disappointed that 2 people in the neighborhood Facebook group don't get the point of the group and need to be refocused and stop acting like children in the group. I'm not going to be the one who has to do it.

My volunteer efforts will be focused where they are not only meaningful, but appreciated.

However, not everything I've yielded has been an easy decision.

The most recent endeavor I decided to put on hold was Ironwilled: Kids who Tri. We will not continue in the summer of 2016. IWK was a recreational youth triathlon program that Amy and I kicked off last summer. We met with the kids 3 times a week for an hour-plus for about 8-10 weeks. It was a cost-free program and I really enjoyed working with the kids and their parents. However, it was at least a 6-8 hour commitment every week with drive time, prep, activity, clean up.
To do it right, and I don't do junk, I need more time to dedicate to it. I do not have the time nor the resources to focus on this right now. Right now. I may revisit it in the future as I do believe there is a need for non-competitive/non-elite programming for kids, but now is not the time for it to be singlehandedly produced by me. There are some great programs in the area over seen by full time staff. I posted my resignation letter in our group this afternoon. IWK was a great idea. It still is a great idea. But life happens and I'm not in a good place to lead it.

I've already identified some new endeavors to get involved with when the time is right. Until then, I'm working on saying no unless it's something I really want to be involved with, trying to adult better, and getting to sleep earlier.

And on that note...


Monday, January 4, 2016

I Am a New Year Resolutioner....

The memes on Facebook started a week or two ago. The specific complaints were quite obvious today. Someone is in my parking space. Why are all these people here? 
 

Well, I'm here to publicly admit...I am a New Year Resolutioner. Seriously....I know. I know. You've followed my journey. Training, working out, breaking a sweat is what I do. But it wasn't always!

What I haven't done in years is go to a group exercise class. What I've never really embraced was yoga. Yes, you read that correctly, YOGA. While in Hilton Head with Michele last week we went to 4 yoga classes in a row. Different type: Warm Yin, Slow Flow, Gentle, and something else I can't remember. I enjoyed it.

My January schedule is actually fairly light until lacrosse starts. I found a local yoga studio that offered a great intro deal and I signed up. I've been binging on yoga sessions (5 in the past 4 days) around work and my regular tri training.

I was keeping this a bit on the quiet side in case I bailed half way through January. Then no one would really know. That was until I was walking out of Restorative Yoga tonight. A woman almost didn't get into the session because it was full. She commented to the instructor about needing to remember to sign up (I didn't register for the class until 45 minutes beforehand as I had to see how I felt after my bike trainer workout.). Now, I may have interpreted tone that wasn't intended. What I heard was the instructor say something to the regular like, "It's January..." Maybe I heard the tone. Maybe there was tone. But DEAL WITH IT!

It's January and I'm in your class and possibly taking the place in the room that you usually have. Sorry not sorry. We all need to start somewhere. Maybe if I get a smile and introduction I'll stick it out past January. Maybe I'll stick with it to compliment my tri training. Maybe if an instructor takes them time to get my name I'll buy the next package. Still waiting for someone who works there to make me feel welcome other than one of the owners who I introduced myself too.

More honesty, if not for the little bit of yoga I tried a year ago and for my 4 day bootcamp with Michele, I may not have gone back past the first 1 or 2. I digress, that's for another post....

Maybe that person who is on your spin bike, or using the machine you want, or walking on the treadmill, just needs a little encouragement. Give it a shot. Especially you reading this that are already on the fitness wagon, remember there is always room for more. And if you had to park a bit further, add the walk to Strava and see if you can get faster at that segment.


Oh, and if you need a good chuckle, come do yoga with me. Not because yoga is funny, but because watching me turn my cactus arms into weeping willow branches is!


Thursday, October 15, 2015

Ironman Louisville...

It's a long one, you've been warned.

The road to Ironman Louisville actually started over 18 months ago. No, I'm not that good at planning ahead, but that's when it was determined that I would participate in Ironman Florida, 2014 and I started this blog. And of course how I got to IMFL through a social media contest, and this was before Ironwilled!

Most of you know about the "ironbrick" instead of triathlon that occurred at Ironman Florida. That's right, they canceled the swim. No, it was not a duathlon. It was a modified race because of safety concerns for participants, volunteers, and safety personnel. I completed the race that was presented to me (not everyone did) and considered myself an Ironman. Most of the people in the triathlon world that I look up to and respect felt the same way. But, there were many that disagreed. Some of these people were crass enough to express their disagreement not just out loud but directly to the athletes impacted. Others were couth enough to keep their opinion to themselves. Some who were very vocal had never completed an 140.6 event (either they had never toed the line to start or they started and DNF'd (did not finish). The 2 sides got into heated debates. This was my take on it (and I still feel the same way).

Moving on...I felt incomplete. I did view myself as an Ironman, but in my head, there was an asterisk. Because I acknowledge that my life is very uncertain, I wanted to fill my PERSONAL void while I knew I had the time. I signed up for Ironman Louisville and since it is a river swim, there is no reason to think the race wouldn't go off as planned... unless green slime invades.....

Now that you all are on the same page, let's talk about my IRONMAN LOUISVILLE.

The months and weeks leading up to IMLou, I was a mess. I was constantly worried about not finishing before midnight. The bike caused heart palpitations and tears. Legit (only in my head) fears of a DNF for time. Irony: the only part of the event I wasn't worried about was the swim which is the only leg I had been worried about in Florida. 4K Fridays for the win!

Hear me out on why I was so worried about finishing IMLou before midnight. As I mentioned in another blog before I registered, it was already announced the race would start at 7:30, not 7. That meant there was 16.5 hours to compete the event IF you are the first person in the water. But IMLou is a time trial start (swimmers entered 5-10 at a time). I could have not started my race until 8:15/8:30am. What does that mean? Worst case I get a total of 15.5 hours to finish instead of 17 hours. So what? Rule of thumb is to take your 70.3 finish time, double it, and add 1-2 hours to estimate your finish time for a full. My most recent 70.3 was Lake Logan where it took me 7:25 to finish. Simple math: 7:25+7:25+2 hours = 16:50. See, based on arithmetic, I could be in trouble.

I knew I could do the 140.6. I had trained. I was ready. I was fearful that I wouldn't time qualify and I would disappoint my friends, coach, Ironwilled women and I would embarrass myself. It took till almost race day to come to grips that the handful of people who would be tracking me and hoping for my failure just didn't matter and that the hundreds of people who were pulling for me did.
As race day approached the support and encouragement from all over the world started pouring in. I know my coach wanted me to cut back on social media, but what I explained to him was that it was an incredibly supportive space for me. The women of Ironwilled and my friend Kristen were just amazing. I had already left any group that was drama-filled and I had unfollowed anyone who was causing anxiety in my head.
Compliments of Jeanette
And now the recap of what really happened this race weekend:

Friday I went to check in, attended the athlete's briefing and did a little shopping. As I'm waiting for the athlete's briefing to start, I see this group of women walking towards me.

My heart melts. I mean I know we did a special t-shirt order for the ladies form Ironwilled heading to Louisville, but every time I see someone in Ironwilled gear I have to rub my eyes to believe it's real! I get to meet these awesome women as well as see many other friends. AND, the most important announcement of the weekend: THE SWIM WAS ON! (whew.)

Friday night we headed out to dinner with a small group of solo travelers from the group and Kelly who is local and the volunteer captain of the finish line. She provided a lot of insight for the race.

Saturday was the practice swim. I wanted to get in the water, but Coach really didn't want me in the water any sooner than necessary. Even without the green slime warning, the Ohio River is not known for it's cleanliness and there are many that end up sick from it. Since I was already dealing with some allergy issues, I followed his urging and skipped the swim. However, I did get to meet a few more IW women.
It was a bit brisk that morning.
Not only did I get to meet up with some IW women, I had a chance encounter with my teammates that were also racing.
Vallee and Katie, just 2 of my many incredibly talented teammates.
Now it was time for me to really focus on the race. I headed out on to the course to get a quick ride on MP to check gearing and make sure he was ready to roll. Of course he was, he had just been to Curtis & Crew at Cannon Cyclery. A quick shake out of the legs and it was time to get off them.

The rest of Saturday was running errands, racking my bike, turning in my transition bags and meeting up with my folks for an early dinner. Oh, and mess with my coach some...we might have sent him a text that said, "Tomorrow's race plans have changed some." He wasn't amused and I couldn't keep up the joke. He called in a panic and I caved almost instantly telling him I was completely fine.
Mom has limited mobility so we learned from IMFL last year, rent a chair to help her get places faster/easier.
Off to sleep nice and early with 4 alarms set in hopes that I would actually sleep some. It worked. I did actually sleep.

Sunday morning, way before the sun was up, Stacy humored my race anxiety and had me standing in line for transition (drop bottles on my bike, add air to the tires, turn in special needs bags) by 4:55. In and out of transition as quickly as I could and then she drove me to the swim start about a mile away.

I made friends with the people waiting around me (I know this surprises you...) and settled in for a 2 hour wait. Remember I said I was irrationally worried about cut off times? Solution: Get as much time on the course as possible.

Eventually we put wetsuits on and headed down on to the dock.
photo cred: Kelly's family
There are 2 lines to hop into the river. One puts you about 10 yards further from the finish. I stuck close to the river and saved myself 10 yards of swimming.

The first part of the swim is up river in a mostly protected cove. I didn't really feel like I needed to fight any current and settled in to my swim. There was a little contact that I was prepared for, after all I'm a mid pack swimmer jumping in ahead of much faster swimmers. But it was nothing like the washing machine I have heard about in others' reports. Oddly enough, it wasn't until we were in the HUGE river that someone insisted on swimming into me a few times. After the cove broke, then I felt like I need to push and fight a little to progress up the river. And then, there was the lovely red buoy! (The turn buoy was the first benchmark for me as far as relaxing into the race) That's the one we turn around to head back down river. It was definitely a down river swim, but the current did not seem overpowering.

I swam right up to the steps where 2 volunteers grabbed my hands and pulled me right up to dry land and then coming out Katie spotted me and said hi.

In sum: FAN-FREAKING-TASTIC swim: 1:22:46 (25 minutes faster than what I thought, spot on for Coach's estimate.) Fueling: I remembered to eat the Gu before the swim.

Training plan said to SIT DOWN in transition. Take my time, don't miss anything, it's a long day. I grabbed a volunteer and began to change. Bike jersey, cycling shorts, arm sleeves on. T1: 11:50
 
The next benchmark I was waiting for was mile 60 of the bike. The cut off for mile 60 on the bike was 3:30pm. Yes I knew this. It was time to get to mile 60.
photo cred: Joana
I rolled out on to the course. I was spotted by my cousin and then I saw Stacy doing what she does best, when not racing, being Sally.
photo cred: Dynamo Betty & Ernie
 
The bike course starts off nice and flat. I ride as far to the right as possible so it's easier for others to pass and pass they did. That's okay: my race my pace. After a bit of flat there is a narrow out and back that has some rolling hills. The road was freshly paved and smooth as a baby's butt! Coming back out there was a wreck that took down at least 3 cyclists. Everyone slowed down and got around them. I think I heard one of the women broke her arm.
 
 
Done with the out & back, it was time to do the loop, twice. More hills. I stuck to my plan: easy up, power down. I tried to keep my heart rate in zone, but it was hard with that many hills. There was some great cheering on the course. I saw some friends, and some friends spotted me. The Dynamo cheering crew was at about mile 30 on the bike. LOVED hearing Betty's horn and voice cheering.
 
Coming back around on Rte 42 to do the loop again, there was a bit of a head wind, but it was nothing like Florida. And then, and then, we approached the 60 mile mark. I asked someone what time it was. They said is was about 1:30. HELLZ YES! And then the fun REALLY began. I was this close to hopping off my bike to do a happy dance! With that small bit of information, every single ounce of concern, anxiety, fear was swept away. I was so excited, that I almost took the beer that was offered to me on the course.

about 5000 feet of climbing
I kept riding. Up and over, up and over. The sun was out. The air temperature was perfect. It was a beautiful day to be out riding my bike. I was spotted a few times by some of the women in Ironwilled who said hello as they passed by. I love getting to meet my Facebook friends IRL. A quick stop at special needs to replace my bottles and I was rolling again. Then it was time to turn on to Rte 42 for the ride back. It's a straight shot to a right on River Road which takes you to transition. This should make me happy. And it did, but the head wind. Uggg. No, no, no, I'm not whining. Was there a head wind? Yes. Was in unmanageable? No. Everything is relative and compared to IMFL 2014...whatevs.
As it warmed up, I just slid my arm covers into my pocket, photo cred: Joana
In sum: Bike: 7:25:35 (exactly what Coach and I both thought). Fueling: 1 bottle of Infinit every hour on the hour mark. 1 Salty Ball every hour on the :30. I didn't screw this up.

I passed my bike off to one of the volunteers and began my walk in to transition. I wasn't in a rush. I had plen-TEE of time. I grabbed by bag and Karen came running screaming my name. Funny one she is, I saw her in Augusta running her race and she wished me well on  my upcoming race.
photo cred: Karen
A volunteer grabbed me this time and took me over where it wasn't so crowded. She helped me shift gears from bike to run. I decided to leave my cycling jersey on which meant I didn't need a fuel belt. I tossed my Gu into the jersey pockets, switched shorts, shoes and grabbed my race belt and I was out. 
T2: 11:01

Heading out on to the run, I turned a corner and saw Felicia. Stopped to say hi to her and she shooed me on. Bye, Felicia! Just a mile in to my run was my mom, dad and Stacy. HUGS for EVERYONE!
Stacy and Dad were in the middle of the road cheering everyone on, Mom was hanging on the side.
My race plan was to run aid station to aid station and walk each station. This would allow me to get in water, fluids and fuel as needed. I tried to stay low Z2 for the first part of my run. I was a little high early on and then settled in. The fun part of the run is that people are moving slow enough to say hello and cheer on.
 
On the early part of my run I saw Vallee flying to the finish earning her 2nd in AG and a Kona slot! Then I saw Katie and she was crushing it! 6th in age group! Day-um my teammates are incredible. I spotted Betty on her bike. the run is like playing "Where's Waldo." She hung up on Maria to chase me down for a goofy picture. I actually asked her to call Maria back and tell her I had a great swim.  Nadya and I met in the middle for a quick high-5.
 
I was running. You know, after swimming 2.4 miles and riding 112 miles, it is just logical to run a marathon.
I really need to work on my running posture.
It was a pretty flat course that is a double loop on mostly closed roads and some good cheering groups. Heading back in on my first loop Joe D caught up to me and I held pace with him (he slowed down) for a couple seconds and then I enjoyed harassing him as he ran in to a crazy fast finish. Just after that I saw Les and I thought he would catch me too, but I had to use the port-a-pot and I think he passed by while I was, um, busy. At about mile 12ish I got to hand off my sunglasses and say quick hellos to mom, dad, and Stacy. A very quick stop in special needs to grab my Gu and it was back on my feet.
 
As I headed back out on my second loop you could tell who was on loop 2 and who was just heading out. Doing what I do, I was chatting up people as I passed them, or ran with them a little. In an attempt to remind myself, as it got later, I started telling other runners it was a beautiful day to be an Ironman.
 
You hear about hitting the wall. Physically, mentally, I only lost my focus briefly and I wanted to add an extra walk break, but that wasn't the plan and I couldn't come up with a reason to not stick to the plan. I also remembered something Matthew sent me:
Stay Present. Don't project forward.  Don't harp on the past.  Stay in a 5-second window: the three ahead of you, the second you're in, and the second that just passed.  Make decisions in a 5-second window and live here for as much of the day as possible.
I stopped thinking about how many miles were left and just kept running. I synced up with a guy from Philly for miles 23-25. I wish I could remember his name, but when it was all over, everything became a blur. He and I chatted until the last aid station and then he had some pep left, so I assured him he should go. He and his wife (please, you didn't think he was single did you?) found me after the finish area, but there was so much going on I couldn't focus.
 
Meanwhile...
 
I come back in and Stacy is waiting there for me with a huge grin and a big hug.
 
All that's left is to turn some corners and head to the finish line. I run right into my friend Ron's arms for a huge hug and then it was time to finish the party.
I'm running down the shoot (ok, trotting) and I'm giving out high-5s and I'm trying to find my folks. I knew they would be there. I couldn't find them.
And then I did. I couldn't see them in the spot lights and right as I stepped across the mat, I heard my father. Sad face. I wasn't sure what would happen if I went back over the timing mat so I went to the side, blew them kisses, turned around and there was Felicia!
photo cred: Felecia
Run: 5:15:36 (12 minutes faster than IMFL and faster than my first stand alone marathon). Fuel: Gu about every hour, chicken broth and towards the end cookies and chips (don't judge!)
 
I got my medal, took my finisher pictures, and finally got to thank Ann for cheering and volunteering all over the course.
 
I think I look a little happy....
 
The volunteer who hands you your medal, also walks you through until you see someone you know. First familiar face I see:
 
Did I mention I have amazing teammates? Vallee and her husband came back out to cheer me in and I got a text from Katie apologizing for not coming back, but she got detained with her parents. What?!? Such great people I've gotten to connect with this year.
 
Stacy found me and helped me find my folks...
 
And then these guys who had finished a few hours earlier insisted on see me before heading back to their families.
 
Rob and Joe are just 2 of the guys that I got to meet because of this race. They were congratulating me on a great race. (Their finish times...wow!) We were talking about time and I said I thought I went about 15:30. I had no idea, I was working with the time on the clock and my math was faulty. Rob pulled out athlete tracker and told me my time. You should have seen my eyes light up. I NEVER thought I'd have this great of a race. Apparently everyone else knew, I just wouldn't listen....
 
Total: 14:26:48

There are so many people to thank I'm going to miss someone and in advance: I'm sorry.

The coaching staff at Dynamo: Maria for not getting frustrated with me and my faulty steering wheel and flat tires; swimming is hard. Shanks for answering questions and helping me work with Champion Systems for Ironwilled. Haley for being awesome. Matthew for patiently waiting for me on the long rides at camp and letting me cry and then not saying a word when I got back on my bike and pedaled away. Thank you Matthew for the email and text around race weekend and for encouraging me and for making me feel just as significant as your athletes you train who podium.

The Dynamo triathletes I got to meet in Chattanooga and Pine Mountain: Thank you for welcoming me into your family. Canada Cat and Linda for showing me that teammates help teammates reach their goals.
photo cred: Vallee
#MyCoachisHot, Brent: Thank you for figuring out how to keep me progressing despite my crazy schedule in the spring with lacrosse. And working around my commitments with Ironwilled: Kids who Tri in the summer and every other thing I wanted to put into my schedule this training cycle. Thank you for listening to me and encouraging me and believing in me when I didn't believe in myself. Thank you for being at Lake Logan all the way till the end. Thank you for riding with me my last 14 miles of my first ever 120 and then even running with me. Thank you for encouraging me to get out of my comfort zone. Thank you for the perfect race plan. Thank you for coaching me beyond just putting workouts into Training Peaks.

Stacy: Thank you for encouraging me to join the Dynamo Family. I used to not like when you would tell people, "Shawna isn't the fastest athlete, but she has more heart and determination than anyone you'll ever meet." I now know what an incredible compliment that is. Thank you for being an amazing friend and mentor. #womenbeshopping


Eric: For many many long rides.

The Louisville Smack talk group: For many many laughs and for allowing me to be a fly on the wall of the men's locker room.

Ironwilled: Women Who TRI: My tribe. Y'all are awesome. Period.

My family: I know you think I'm completely nuts but you love me anyway.

What's next? I am taking a year off from 140.6. This had actually been determined Labor Day weekend. No matter what happened in Louisville, I was cutting back on distance to focus on some other things. Am I returning, who knows? Let's see what life brings my way. Maybe I'll start dating again, I know y'all miss the stories and Facebook posts. I also have some personal things I need to spend some time focused on.

What I do know is this: I am sticking with Dynamo and I'm staying on Team Brent.

Much love and respect and thanks to everyone who played even the smallest part of me reaching the finish line at Ironman Lourisville.

I had: If you have gotten this far wow....but instead, let's end with: