Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Too Many Thoughts to Keep Bottled Up....

"You've been really quiet this year." "I was just going to message you and ask you if I'd missed your blog postings."

Pretty sure I've mentioned before that I didn't have much to say this go round. I made a conscious decision a few months ago to deactivate every and any dating profile that I had posted anywhere. It wasn't that I was/am opposed to dating, I just decided I didn't have the time or emotional energy to put in to forcing it. That means I have no dating stories. No good. No bad. No ugly. Simply no tales to be shared.

So let's talk training. Ironman Louisville is in like 20 days or something ridiculous like that. I'm really trying not to do a count down. I'm out of the primary Facebook group for IMLOU. It just doesn't have the same vibe as the IMFL group and after one too many panic emails to coach he finally said, "I need you to leave that group. Please." So I did. I've also unfollowed a bunch of people who are posting countdowns and panic postings. I just can't right now. I'm really trying to focus on me.


The most current panic (weather watches haven't started yet) is the green slime in the Ohio River. Nothing like a national organization saying don't touch the water. There is nothing I can do about the river. If WTC/IM tells me to get in the water, I'm getting in. If they tell us the swim is canceled...well, I've been there before and already have a 138.2 badge for my Road ID.


Before I posted that there wasn't a lot of new this training cycle. There weren't new distances to report. And this stuff is just what I do. Here is what was different this training cycle: I was CONSTANTLY out of my comfort zone.

My bike and I went to:
We didn't just ride our bikes, we cheered too!
  • the Gaps with ITL and thankfully Angela rode with me (sag/coaches were great too).
Top of the last climb with Angela and a foggy camera
It went really well.
  • Chattanooga for tri camp with my coaching team, Dynamo Multisport. Amazing patient coaches and my first 100 of the training cycle with teammates I hadn't met yet who are incredible athletes and super nice.
Photo credit: @WeAreDynamo
  • Louisville, KY to meet up with a handful of women from Ironwilled: Women who TRI to preview the course.
Could not have asked for better tour guides or company for the weekend
  • Pine Mountain, GA for another tri camp with even more amazing athletes, patient coaches and my very first EVER 120 mile ride followed up with 70 miles (okay fine, 69 miles) the next day.
Me ruining a great picture by laughing. Photo cred: Vallee
  • of course weekly trips to the Bud Plant and Silk Sheets (local riding routes) with different friends.
I started going to a Masters Swimming program at Dynamo Swim Club. I've been assured I've improved, but I am usually the first one in the water and the last one out to make sure I get the yardage I needed for my workout. As I explained to someone today, I could swim somewhere else and maybe be in the middle of the pack. But, if I really want to get better, I need to train with the best.

I started going to a computrainer class. Think spin class but on your own bike.

I cheered a bunch of races and even got a chance to provide kayak support. Not because the athletes I am coaching were racing but because it's FUN!

I've been dropped on more rides than I can count. I've also been supported and encouraged and never been made to feel inferior. I got the best compliment from one of my coaches. (I say "one of" because while I have my coach, you know: #mycoachishot, the best byproduct from going to tri camp: I got to know the others coaches and they got to know me.) I told this coach that everyone was so nice and supportive and she told me I earned their respect. I didn't have to be as fast as they were, they respected my work ethic and perseverance.

Coaching with Brent and the Dynamo team has been a really amazing experience for me. And humbling. And encouraging. And frustrating. And absolutely the right choice. I'm going to keep working on becoming more comfortable in my own skin. (Remember, I've acknowledged before I can give anyone a pep talk, but my internal monologue isn't quite as positive.) I've already discussed next year's goals with Brent and we've agreed to continue working together. (Thank God! I've bought a ton of Dynamo clothing to intersperse with my Ironwilled stuff!)

I have similar race anxiety that I did leading up to IMFL. I know this: I have worked my ass off. I've followed the plan I was given. I've been committed 100% to the training/process. You could almost say I should be committed. October 11, 2015 you will find  me jumping into the Ohio River and I'm going to keep going until I cross the finish line or someone tells me my day is done. There are no guarantees on race day, but I promise you this: I'll give it the best I've got. And to answer your question: Yes, I'm ready.




Sunday, August 9, 2015

Some Days You are the Windshield....

This weekend was the Lake Logan 70.3 Triathlon. Many of you know it as a half Ironman, but let's remember that Ironman is a brand much like Band-aid or Kleenex.. Just sayin' and moving on....

PART I
 

The original plan for the weekend was to head up to Asheville with Lisa and sherpa for each other as my race was Saturday and hers was to be Sunday. Unfortunately, Lisa is sidelined for the season and we will have to carry out these plans next year. Dropping back to plan B...with Lisa's help, I booked a bed in the "Women's Dorm" at the Lake Logan Episcopal Center. Dorm isn't quite right, camp bunk with foam mattress is pretty accurate. However, after hearing about the traffic nightmare from last year, I decided it was worth the cost for the convenience. Blah blah blah, yada yada yada...let's get to the point.

I get to the sight at about 7pm. Packet pick up is until 7pm. I rush over and manage to get my stuff. Then it's off to settle in and figure out what needs to be hiked up to the dorm and what doesn't. I had frozen my Infinit bottles (liquid fuel for the bike) because I didn't know what kind of resources I'd have for mixing etc. I pulled the ice out of the cooler and left the bottles in the cooler with the lid up.

Fast forward to the next morning, I'm up, dressed and down at the car prepping my bike to walk down to transition. Air in the tires. Stickers on the bike/helmet. My bottles are still frozen. Yea yea, never freeze your nutrition. But I was trying to figure out how to keep my nutrition cold/fresh with no refrigeration or ice. Yes, it bit me in the ass. I set up my aero bottle and dumped what I could from each of the 4 bottles into it. Then we took room temperature water and created an ice bath in the cooler. I'm not sure why at the time I thought that would work in 5 minutes...but we tried anyway. then I poured water into the other bottles and put them on my bike. Nadya was with me and offered up an extra bottle of Osmo. Never drank the stuff, but it was liquid and she was offering.

Down to transition eating a PB&J and banana for breakfast, my usual.

Set up transition, wander around visiting with some, using the bathroom like 5 times and finding my coach. He gave me a last minute pep talk and I told him I was trying to figure out how to do a 15 minute jog to warm up with the sneakers I need to run in the dark on gravel trails with transition closing in 10 minutes. He said to skip it.
Coach had a few athletes racing today, I was very appreciative that he was there.
I went back in to transition to grab my goggle and cap and stared at a Huma gel I had brought with me to eat before the swim. I decided I didn't want it, and left it there. (am I foreshadowing enough?)

Off to get ready to swim. Wetsuit adjusted (THANKS Mike!) and the swim waves started. We started the swim from in the water and it was a nice calm start. I got settled and I started swimming. With purpose. Fingers together, catch and pull, just keep swimming.
The swim was beautiful!
Halfway through the swim, I begin to think I might be hungry. I should have taken that gel. As we approach the exit out of the swim, the water temperature drops about 10 degrees. Until then, the lake was amazing. I get pulled up and out of the water and BOTH calves seize.
How I imagine I looked.
Mandy assures me I was not whimpering, I was straight up screaming and crying. I hear there are pictures, but I couldn't find them when I wanted to publish this report. I wasn't the first and I wasn't the last. The medical staff came over and started stretching me. I couldn't stand up. Both calves were so knotted and tight and I don't remember the last time I felt that much pain. Eventually I regained my breath and my ability to use my legs and wandered towards transition. I couldn't even tell you what the medic looked like. I probably didn't even say thank you. I was truly numb to everything but the pain.

1.2 mile swim: 39:09 and that includes my injured seal impersonation on the dock. THRILLED!

Into transition and I take a quick lick of Base salt which is supposed to help with the cramping and I look at the Huma gel on my towel. Brush off my feet, roll on my socks. Shoes, glasses, helmet, grab my bike and go.

T1: 5:41 (Huma gel unopened, on the towel)

Out of transition and I could hear Coach and his crew cheering me on. Sorry I didn't acknowledge you Coach, but I heard you and thanks! Off I went. This was the piece of the day I was really worried about. I knew there was a tough hill around mile 40. I also knew there was a lot of climbing period. We climbed our way out and then there was a steep s-turn downhill. The roads were slick from the morning dew and a woman in front of my completely wiped out into the ditch. I was going too fast, if I tried to stop too quickly, I was going to join her. Then I heard 2 people behind me ask if she was okay. I really hope she was because not stopping to check on her weighed on me for almost all of the ride. I had a huge internal debate about what to do and I just kept hoping that the women behind me stopped because I didn't and I still feel pretty awful about that.

56 miles of hills. Not 52 like last year, 56. Of hills. Of climbs and descents. Climbs and descents. I never saw a map of the route and I didn't get to drive it. I went in blind. My Garmin says I had about  3169 feet of climbing over those 56 miles. I started sipping on my Infinit and it was really sweet. I kept riding. I was given a pretty aggressive race plan and I was trying to keep to it. I was supposed to go out in Zone 2 for the first 15 miles, then high Zone 2/low Zone 3 for the next 21 miles, and then Zone 3 for the last push.

Side note: Coach and I talked and he reminded me I am not a first year long course triathlete and it's time for me to start pushing myself in races. As a matter of fact, the opening line of my race plan was: At the edge of exhaustion there is a lot of learning to be done. Get yourself tired and let's find out even more. (masochist!)

When given the chance, my heartrate recovers pretty quick. However, if I even look at a hill, I hit Z3. Guess where I spent almost my entire ride?

Bike course elevation. Extra credit if you can pick the spot I dropped my first F-bomb at a hill.
I tried to take it easy in the beginning and push a bit more towards the end. Matter of fact, I had resolved myself to really try and follow the plan for the ride.
Oops.
Back to the ride.... It went fairly well. I drank the first bottle of fuel in about an hour fifteen and refilled while rolling. I took a sip. Tasted like water. Crap. I go through this bottle and refilled. Tastes like water. Crap. I'm past 3 hours on the bike (this doesn't surprise anyone and I planned on 4 bottles) so I dump the bottle of Osmo in. It doesn't taste like much, but I've never had it before, so I don't know what it's supposed to taste like.

Triathlon 101: You fuel on the bike to prepare for the run. (Come on, surely you see what's coming?)

I'm pleased with my bike. I conquered every hill even though I watched people dismount and walk. I rode straight through without stopping, the first time since IMFL I have ridden for 56 miles without at least 1 stop. I'm feeling pretty good about myself. Going up the toughest hill at about mile 42 I just kept saying to myself and out loud: "up and over", "I don't quit", "You are stronger than you think...I am stronger than I think....I am strong." Boom!

56 mile bike: 3:43:40

I come in off the bike and into T2, rack my bike, switch shoes, grab my hat and run out. The Huma gel is still sitting there.

T2: 3:03:10

Coming out of the run I see Coach. He spots me and runs and chats briefly with me. Quick pep talk. I told him the bike was really hard but I did it. He reminds me nothing but positive talk on the way up. I say on the way up because the run course is two loops and about 3.5 miles uphill before you turn around and come back down.

The plan was for me to go out for the first 6.2 miles (2 5ks) in Zone 2. Nice and easy and get my legs under me. I stayed in Z3 the entire first 10k. I couldn't get my heart rate down. It wouldn't drop. The for the 3rd 5k, I'm to push a little, low end of Z3. 4th 5k was to be a Z3 run and the last mile was to give it whatever I had left. Good plan on paper. I just couldn't execute it.

Anyway, I turn the corner and Mandy is there. She takes a few steps with me and I have a lump in my chest, I can't breathe. I can't catch my breath. I don't know what's going on. I get myself together and I put together a mile run. and that would be the last complete mile I run without walking. I could blame the course. But it wasn't the course.
The run course

It really wasn't that bad.  But I couldn't get my head and my legs to agree. My quads and my calves hurt so bad. My head would say run, my legs would say no. I tried some more Base, it didn't do it. When my legs were ready to run, my head said no. At one point the pain from my calf radiated down to my Achilles. I drank lots of water. I poured water on my head. I sucked on ice. Something in my stomach just wasn't right. Finally about 45 minutes in I stopped and went to the bathroom, but it didn't help. I think around mile 4 or 5 I finally ate a gel.

The course screwed with your head. You came out of transition and saw all your friends. Then you went up hill for 3.5 miles (or so) then you came back to that same corner saw your friends and had to run into a field on grass/gravel and head right to the finishing shoot, but stay to the left for your second lap. Then you ran back out right by your friends. Oh, and back up hill.

By the time I started my second lap it looked like the set of the Walking Dead. It looked like everyone was a zombie. Coach caught me going back out and promised to still be there when I finished. I told him everything hurt, including my jaw, and it was going to be a while.

I started playing games with myself. The street was lined with cones. I would run, and then walk 2 cones. Then I would run 10 cones and walk again. I knew I wasn't going to quit, but if I said I didn't think about it, I'd be lying.

It was without a doubt the hardest and most miserable run of my 'career'. It was harder than my first marathon.

Splits: 11:59, 12:20, 13:34, 13:26, 12:29, 11:56, 13:39, 14:35, 14:43, 14:32, 13:33, 14:05 and then my watch died.

Run: 02:54:47

Total: 07:26:15

My Garmin says I burned about 3000 calories during the triathlon. Let's assume my peanut butter and jelly sandwich was 330 calories and my banana was 105. MAYBE I got about 600 calories on my bike. 100 calories for the Huma gel. So quick math tells me I took in about 1000 calories to a 3000 calorie expenditure. YOU CAN'T RUN A CAR ON EMPTY! I got myself into such a hole, I just couldn't climb out of it.

What did I learn:
  • don't freeze your nutrition
  • I need a back up plan for fuel on the bike
  • I need to start fueling my training runs whether I think I need it or not. I haven't been using anything but water on my long runs, because the long runs have been at Z2 and less than 2 hours. However, I think that bit me in the ass, because I didn't have the habit of fueling whether I wanted it or not
  • I am not the swiftest, but I CAN climb on my bike.
  • My swim has really improved
  • I'm going to have bad days, but I'm not a quitter (about 60 people DNF'd for various reasons)
  • The reality of pushing yourself out of your comfort zone is sometimes mistakes get made.
  • I have come such a long way and I AM much stronger than I give myself credit for physically and mentally.
Coach actually wasn't there when I finished because he went out on the course to look for me. Somehow I must have turned a corner and was blocked from his view. When he did find me he gave me a hug, I cried, and he told me many things one of which was:



PART II
 
I spent Saturday night with the plan of cheering the next day of races. This meant I got to hang out with Mandy and Dana and destroy some Dairy Queen Blizzards. I had calories to replace! Lots of laughing, interrupting each other, laughing and interrupting each other interrupted by interrupting each other. So.Much.Fun!
 
 
There was an International and a Sprint the next day. Mandy and I went out to cheer, me in the bright pink wig. Mandy knows some of the race staff and they asked her if she'd man a kayak for swim support. I agreed to as well, pink wig and all!
 
It was quite a different vantage point of the event. I love cheering and encouraging people on their run, but the opportunity to be in the water was incredible. 3 different people came up to me and told me if not for me, they would have DNF'd the swim. I just used the same mind tricks that were shared with me yesterday: breathe, look around because this place is beautiful, and you aren't quitting. I also kayaked the last male novice in to the dock. He finished his first triathlon today.
Mandy and me after kayaking and helping make sure all swimmers got out safely.
After kayaking we went up on to the run to cheer. After we saw the last person finish we called it a day. I took the opportunity to return to the seen of the crime.
 
 Next project: Unload the car. It looks like a tri store exploded in there.
 
 



Thursday, July 23, 2015

I've Been Quiet....

I haven't written much lately. Even when I thought I had something to say, I just didn't feel like saying it. I didn't even tell you all about my last race.

This training cycle has been weird. Lacrosse season took more out of me than usual as I was reffing full time in addition to being at my day job as much as possible and training. It's my second time around, so the distance aren't new, I've done it before. I almost regret signing up for another 140.6 without taking the year off I had been planning to. However, I'm not a quitter so I'm in it till the finish line in Louisville. Then, well then the goals shift again.

I'm starting to stress less about Louisville. I've even appeased my coach and switched from #longroadtolou to #roadtolou. I just keep chipping away at my training schedule. My swim is much stronger. My run is good enough for my goals. The bike...the bike is incredibly frustrating. However, I had a breakthrough ride 2 weekends ago when I got up Big Sister without walking and this past weekend when I didn't hate my bike. My pace was slightly swifter than the last long ride as well. Seriously: I didn't hate my bike.

Me at the top of Big Sister. Photo by Kent Ruby
There's been a lot of interpersonal bullsh!t going on also. I finally threw up my hands this morning and walked away. Texts were deleted so I can't revisit. Phone numbers were blocked and set to auto reject. I've got bigger fish to fry in my life than to put up with someone either directly or passive aggressively getting in the way. This morning at the encouragement and logical advice of a valued friend...I walked away.

This summer Amy and I kicked off an Ironwilled Kids group. We've been working with about 5 families and it looks like everyone who participated with us will be completing a triathlon in just a couple weeks. Unfortunately for me, I am already committed to Lake Logan 70.3 that weekend, so I will be looking forward to hearing about their successes. It's been a huge time commitment, but we were lucky, everyone (kids and parents) were terrific to work with. We are looking forward to seeing if we can grow it more next year. Thank you All3 Sports and Big Peach Running, Co for all your support this inaugural season.
Special thanks to All3 Sports for being our host every Sunday rain or shine.
Special thanks to Big Peach Running, Co in Marietta for leading our skill work every other week
Much to Barry's disappointment I am not dating anyone nor am I trying to. If someone were to come around organically, that'd be fine. However I have no interest in the screening and interview process of on line dating. Or maybe it's because I still have short hair.
My brother shared this with me last week.
Not that you didn't know that these are my thoughts and my thoughts alone, but I'll remind you: This is my take on the world. I think one of the reasons I've have less I want to share this training cycle is because I know I am a long course triathlete. Running for 2 hours isn't remarkable to me. Riding my bike for 5 hours isn't unusual. I'm not even batting an eye at the 3600 yard (just about 2 miles) swim workout I'll complete tomorrow morning before work. I no longer surprise myself at what I accomplish in a workout. Truth be told, some of my paces I'm so not happy with, I don't want to share. If you are really curious about my training, you can find me on strava.

To my friends who have provided company on many a long ride or run THANK YOU! And to the Monday night swim crew...thanks for waiting for me on the other side. Trackside Taqueria for dinner next week!

Maybe I'll start writing again more often, who knows....

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Pushing Mental Road Blocks....

I started this blog post off a bit "whoa is me" but then deleted everything and decided to start over. Here's the deal, I really don't have time for a pity party even though I think about hosting one at least once a day.

There is so much in life to be thankful for and this past weekend was a weekend of firsts for me. And some would say, "It's about time."

Saturday morning I put off my own training ride to ride with others. Seems totally fitting since so many of my friends have put off or altered their workouts to come with me.

My friend from Team Endured reached out seeking cyclists to accompany a handful of athletes on their course preview of the Peachtree Road Race. Sarah was supposed to ride with me so I reached out to her to see if she was interested. Of course she was! I met up with Sarah at her house near Chastain Park and then we rode over to meet up with the crew.
Along with a couple of other cyclists and sag support from the Shepard Center, we escorted, blocked intersections and provided a barrier as the athletes pushed their way up Peachtree including Heartbreak Hill.
I will absolutely be channeling these guys as I'm running the course in a few weeks. They tackled the hills without any whining or cussing which is something I am just not capable of doing. I mean I can do the hills, just not without the cussing.

After riding back to Sarah's house I headed to the Silver Comet, some place I haven't ridden since last October. It's a familiar old friend, but I was also reminded how tough it can be to ride there if you don't start early. There are too many people who believe the path belongs to them and them alone. To stick with the positive theme of the blog, I got to visit the FOUNTAIN!
Chlorine dip, a little conditioner, and dry clothes and I was able to head straight to my nephew's baseball game. Oh and I got to proselytize about triathlon to two women who were out there spreading the word of God.

The next day was a huge mental break through for me. I agreed to, and actually showed up to a group ride led by people I had never ridden with before on a route I had nightmares about. I acknowledged in Ironwilled: Women Who TRI that I fear the group ride. Why? I am not swift on my bike. Am I faster than others, yes; but slower than most. I fear getting dropped (dropped = lost). My own internal guilt kicks in that I'm messing up someone else's workout or making everyone else wait too long and then when I roll up, I have to roll out. Therefore, no rest. I fear failure in front of others.

But I went anyway. I went to ride the Gaps with ITL Coaching and Performance for an advertised No Drop Ride. This means, no one gets left behind.

That's me in the white, surrounded by a sea of blue...
photo credit: itlcoaching
As it would turn out, I was right. I was the slowest one out there. It ended up being one of the those experiences that I would have pushed through on my own, but was so much better having a friend there. After our first regroup, Angela (founder of Team Endured) dropped back and stayed with me. If I cussed too much (if there is such a thing) she just reminded me to push-pull. And surprisingly, my cadence wasn't awful, I just didn't move very fast. Moreover, after the first meet up, the rest of the group went on and that was PERFECTLY fine with me. However, I wasn't dropped. Coach Chris and Coach George both kept regularly circling back. They offered words of encouragement and compliments. "Nice cadence, just hold it and keep moving forward." They both even hung out a few times and chatted. The best was getting updates as too how much further the next peak was. It was great to know it was eventually going to end. I could not have asked for a better first experience riding the Gaps or doing a workout with ITL. These coaches exemplified what I have seen from most triathletes and coaches: true inclusion and encouragement. Oddly enough, no one called me pugnacious...
I can't get a better screen shot so you might need to click on the picture to see the elevation.
No filter. The camera lense was sweaty. Best picture of the day too! 
Huge mental break through for me this weekend agreeing to go to the group ride, actually showing up, and finishing it!

It's still a long road to IM Louisville. So far, I haven't been given anything I can't handle and there is something to be said for that. I'm looking forward to getting up to preview the Louisville course in July. I think that will help my lack of excitement about IMLou as well.





Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Dear Motorist....

In the past couple of days, 2 people have brazenly posted as their Facebook status their desire to either see a cyclist injured or to inflict injury on to an unsuspecting cyclist. Needless to say, the cycling and triathlon community has gone...
and rightfully so. We are tired of burying our friends. Many have reached out to these individual's employers. Many have written them messages. Many of these messages have not been kind. I think we are taking the wrong approach.

Let me change thoughts for a quick moment...

We as the cycling community must police our own. We must be the example of how one should ride on the road. We need to follow the rules of the road. Obey traffic signs. Obey traffic lights. In Georgia while law permits us to ride 2 abreast (and sometimes that is the smartest way to ride) we don't have to! If we want motorists to share the road with us, we must share it with them!

Remember respect is earned, not given. If we wish to be respected on the road then we need to respect those we share the road with. PERIOD. End of story. You know who you are, STOP CYCLING LIKE AN ASSHOLE!

I'm not a an asshole on my bike. I yield when I'm supposed too. I wave and thank drivers I cross paths with. I share the road back.

Now, back to the people who posted recently wishing me harm. (I know, it wasn't me directly, but it could have been.) This is my suggestion if you choose to reach out to them. Kill 'em with kindness and rational though.

Dear Motorist,

I'm sorry I delayed you a few moments while you had to wait to safely pass me. However, I also want to thank you. Thank you for losing those few moments to make sure I stayed safe while riding my bike. Thank you for sharing the road with me, I'm doing the best to share it back with you. That big goofy wave I gave you, that's because I wanted you to know I was waving and not, well, giving you the finger. So I use a big ol' goofy wave. I don't know if you are aware or not, but it is not legal for me to ride my bike on the sidewalk. That's right, if you are over 12 years of age, it is against the law to ride on the sidewalk.

You should know, I'm not the only one thanking you for giving up those few moments to pass me. My mom and dad thank you. My niece and nephews thank you. My brother and sister thank you. My friends thank you also.

See, I'm more than just a triathlete trying to stay healthy and train for my next race. I'm a daughter. I'm a sister. I'm an aunt. I'm a friend. I'm a coach. I'm an employee.

When you sacrifice those couple of moments to get around me, you give me another opportunity to continue pursuing my goals and my dreams. You allow me to celebrate the next birthday, holiday, special occasion with my family and friends.

These thoughts I share with you are not original and many people with much greater influence than I have shared them. I just wanted to take a moment and thank YOU for sacrificing those couple of moments.

Please, I implore you, pass me like you love me because someone out there does.

Respectfully,
Shawna


#passthemlikeyoulovethem




Sunday, May 31, 2015

I'm Not a Sprintah...

Due to availability, time, location, etc I decided to do 2 sprint triathlons this season in addition to a 70.3 and 140.6. The first was yesterday. It was the Blalock Lakes Sprint. I did the Olympic there last year and someone forgot to remind me, I didn't want to do it again. Here's why: The lake is dirty (not toxic, dirt-y). The ride is tough with lots of hills of which I truly only enjoy the down. The run is sunny and hilly. HILLY. Did I mention the hills?

Now, this year unlike last year, I have been running hills. Also unlike last year, I have been climbing hills on my bike. Every.Single.Weekend. Just sayin'... My usual strategy for a triathlon: Don't drown. Don't crash. Finish upright and smiling. Coach had other ideas: Put the pedal down and don't let up until you finish. Ugg, Coach, I'm not a sprinter!

This race had the feeling of a family reunion: friendly faces, lots of support. Humoring my race day OCD, Leah agreed to drive down with me an hour earlier than her original plan. However, that gave us prime spots racking our bikes and plenty of time to socialize and warm-up.

As I wait for our Ironwilled kits from Champs-Systems to come in, I was able to quickly snag this Fusion Sports top customized to represent Ironwilled: Women who TRI.
I also wanted to show my support of my coaching team with my Dynamo Multisport cap!
Sunscreen was applied and my transition was sent up. A quick warm-up and it was time start the events. I was the second to last wave to start. When it was our turn, I looked around and realized I was in the front row. I took a giant step backwards and to the side to get out of the way. Swimming is not my strength and there was no reason to put myself in the middle of the mix when it wasn't necessary. I started to the side as was recommended last summer and in I went. Coach: Swim hard. The distance of 600 meters is not an issue. I actually swam almost 5x that recently. It was the intensity of the swim I had to wrap my head around. (It was the intensity of the entire race I was trying to wrap my head around.) I swam with purpose, I swam with effort. I found my way in towards the buoys and when someone wouldn't stop grabbing and slapping my foot, I may have just kicked her off me. Steadily I started catching the back of the pack of previous waves. Out of the water I went.
Thanks Mike and All3 Sports for the picture!
I don't practice transitions so I was pleased at how quickly I got out. Stacy was up in Raleigh cheering on the 70.3 so Coach Mike from AVC Endurance took her role for her. All I hear as I'm running into transition and trying to get my shoes on is Mike, "Hurry up, Shawna. this is a RACE!" I bust my butt to get out of transition, I'm sure practice would help.
Thanks Mike for the pictures going and coming back in to transition!
On to the bike course... Coach: You have an immediate hill, settle in to you bike and let everyone pull away from you. Then when you crest the hill, pick them off one by one. And that was how I attacked the bike course. Easy, steady up the hill, and then power down. I don't think dad liked hearing this stat, but my fastest pace was 32mph, of course it was down hill! The bike was hard as I came out of the swim with my heart rate elevated and it never came down. I played leap-frog with a few people. They would pass me on the up, I would pass them on the down. Stacy would be proud, I rolled right up the to dismount line before I got off my bike.
Coming back in on the bike I spotted Nadya and gave her a big wave!
Another okay transition, did I mention I don't practice this? Out on to the run I went. My buddy Mike from All3 was standing in such a way that he could see the bikes come in, the runners finish and people start their run out of transition, but he didn't see me. So I yelled, "Mike, where's my love?" Well Coach Mike and All3 Mike apparently heard me so I got 2 big booming cheers, score!
Coach Mike and me before I realized my timing ship was on the wrong leg.
The run was tough. Straight up a hill like the bike. Coach: Push the run. What do you have left? My initial thought on the run was that I had nothing left. I left it all on the swim and the bike. I remember thinking last year that my pace slowed on each mile. It was different route as it was 6.2 miles not 3.1, but this year I NEGATIVE split! Apparently I did have something left. Now, it also helps that the elevation drastically changed with each mile. The most climb was in the first mile, but I had significant drops in pace in each mile on the run. The run is an out and back so I was able to cheer on and high-5 quite a number of people I knew.

I know it doesn't look like it, but I am running in hard. One day my feet will come off the ground!
As I finally spotted the last hill before the descent to the finish line I came across the young man (17!!) who won over all, his buddy and Coach Mike. The boys were cheering everyone on and Mike rode a bit offering support as I finished as strong as I could. The boys were terrific. (Side note: I found them later and told them how great it was to have them out there and if they were wondering if it mattered to anyone that they were out there cheering, it does! Please keep doing it.)

Meanwhile, I hear cowbell and see coach Dan from Endurance Concepts and he tells me the guy ahead of me said girls can't sprint. That's a crock because as I pass the guy in front of me, I realize he can't say anything right now. However, it was enough of encouragement to pick off the only person in front of me. I sucked it up and left it all in the last bit of the course.
My buddy Brad is the one with the big grin, it's always terrific to see him at races.
Thank you Nadya for the picture!
Hey Coach, I CRUSHED IT! 6 out of 10 in my age group. So what? I pushed myself out of my comfort zone. Followed my race plan and kicked my own ass!

Icing on the cake...I got to see a TON of Ironwilled ladies!

We hung out and waiting for Leah to get her bling for earning second in Age Group (my age group too :( ). She's a extremely strong athlete!

Then it was Waffle House for brunch. And that, is how you wrap up a good race day.

Thursday, May 28, 2015

Pass Them Like You Love Them

I was invited to participate in a social media blitz to generate discussion over the hashtag #PassThemLikeYouLoveThem. This started after a tragic accident the week leading up to Ironman New Orleans 70.3 in 2014. Meghan Degan posted a blog talking about motorists responsibilities and cyclists responsibilities.

This weekend in Kentucky, a cyclist was hit by a drunk driver. Mark Hinkel didn't do anything wrong except be outside on a weekend day riding his bike. Mark was a husband, father and grandfather.

This weekend in Atlanta, Dinah McClintock was riding a well known cycling route and a car pulled out in front of her. She hit the car and sustained such injuries that she was airlifted to the local trauma center.

This weekend Maria Cristina Fárez, a 20 year old up and coming triathlete, was hit and killed in Ecuador while on a training ride.

Please pray for these families as all this happened THIS PAST WEEKEND! THIS PAST WEEKEND!

I haven't referenced those who have already lost their lives this spring. The list is incredibly upsetting and long.

As a triathlete, I pledge to ride legally and respectfully and to share the road with you as you drive your car, walk your pet or enjoy your run. I pledge to run against traffic and be mindful of sharing the road with cars and cyclists. I pledge to open water swim only where it is safe to do so.

As a coach, I pledge to teach my athletes and promote amongst those I interact with, the same guiding principals: share the road when you are training and when you are driving.

I implore you to pledge to pass each and every cyclists and runner (even the selfish ones who aren't sharing the road with you) like you love them. Why? Because someone, somewhere does.

I get that you may not know me and since you don't know me, how can you love me? But you will have to trust me that I'm really quite loveable....


See these people below? They love me. Please don't be the reason I don't get to celebrate the next family event with them.


Join the conversation on Facebook by liking the page. #passthemlikeyoulovethem